Takinlife1step@atime’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

2009 A Love Story

There is a story that needs to be told …a story that stands strong in this turbulent loveless time. In this age of recession talk and increased divorce rates I want to relate to my readers a real life incident that touched my heart. On the way to my house there is a slum and this one fine day on my way to college I saw a big crowd in front of a house, it was a house with a shamiana and a closer look showed that someone had passed away.

Even as I was going I heard a lady tearing her hair, wailing and beating her chest mourning for the loss of a loved one. Time constraints as I have in the morning made sure I couldn’t enquire. The next morning my maid told me that it was an old man who passed away and the woman mourning him was his wife. Very sad, I thought and shrugged these things happen. A little later as I rode pass the house I saw the woman wearing the same sari and lying flat on the ground outside her house. My maid reported the next day that the woman refused to eat anything and was just lying down. Oh, I said not sure what I must say in a situation like that.

For the next 3 days as I went past the house I saw the lady flat on the ground. A couple of days later as I was in my mad dash to catch my bus I saw the same shamiana and crowd in front of the same house. Déjà vu all over me not stopping I sped fast. The next morning my maid comes and tells me the wife of the man who died last week she passed away too.

My dad the ever sceptic argues it is lack of food that did her in after all she was pretty old. But it doesn’t matter what he thinks I know that whatever might have been the reason people might say the real reason must have been death by heartbreak. She pined for her love that will never be returned and she died. I realize that I am getting a little bit maudlin and mawkish here but something about the couple just touched my heart.  After all isn’t that what we all desire a love that completes us and if one half goes away what will the other half do?

July 10, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

7 Comments »

  1. Well there is endless incidents similar to this happens everyday around us..I hate to say that Normal human beings always hate to notice these things. Its nice to see you started noticing these things and spending a thought about it. As far as love…thats love…!!

    I always wondered why you use so much heavy jargins which normal human beings find it hard to understand???

    Thanks
    Hammer of spirit

    Comment by The Hammer of Spirit | July 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hey man
    What jargon you are talking about is beyond me I take pride in my readability so anyways… and as for normal or abnormal ppl love always manages to capture everyone’s attention

    Comment by takinlife1stepatime | July 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. Very Sweet

    Comment by Daya | July 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. thnx girl

    Comment by takinlife1stepatime | July 31, 2009 | Reply

  5. In marriage the two becomes one. A friend of mine (married for some 20 years) was telling me in the first five years of marriage we can see many quarrels between the couple but after that people can see a lot of difference. People would see the husband in wife and wife in husband, they will be totally transformed and will be seen as made for each other despite all the differences they had in initial years of marriage not only in character taking the good of each other but in appearance too they will be seen as one. I think that’s true.

    Comment by Leno | November 21, 2009 | Reply

  6. Amen to that

    Comment by takinlife1stepatime | November 27, 2009 | Reply

  7. A slight modification…a smiley removed as per the recommendation of my student Jey…Jey that was for you

    Comment by takinlife1stepatime | September 27, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

