Takinlife1step@atime’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

On a day like today

To be a teacher they say is a thankless job. You have a bunch of know it alls who presume to know better than you when in fact they don’t. It involves long hours of shouting trying to maintain a discipline in a class of 30 – 40 where every single person is bigger than you. It involves being a butt of a million jokes and no matter what you do it is just not write … phew like I said thankless. But once upon a time creeps up on you an odd moment where the students just turn around and surprise the life out of you. Like take for example today. Today is my birthday…my 25th birthday to be precise. I went into my class it was an English class with II Vis.Com. it is not really a class I look forward to as it is the class that gives me maximum trouble. Most of the days I end up with a sore throat after this particular class. It is a class with 30 high-energy personalities. Anyways today as I walked into the class to my utter surprise there on the table was a cake lit by 9 candles (I guess they thought I am just 9) complete with balloons and all. And the class just burst out singing the birthday song. I was touched beyond belief (and the teacher in the next class irritated beyond belief). I mean they didn’t have to do it but still they did. And at the end of the class I walk into my Iyr Vis. Com. and there it was a second birthday cake with a louder birthday song complete with whistles and cheers (so loud the tamil sir in the next class came running). What can I say I am just an emotional wreck laid to waste by the sweetness of my students. On a day like today it feels good to be a teacher.

January 19, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. The best part of being teacher is the happiness and satisfaction you get when your old student comes to you on the road or sent you a surprise letter after long years .

    I had to appear for my 12th std board exams in my previous school ( where i studied from KG till 10th ) and just before the exams i took my friends and introduced to my old class teacher in KG ( yes am seeing her after 10 years ) and i caught hold of her ear rings and asked her “do u remember a naughty kid who broke your ear rings, hurting your ears ” and all of sudden she just hugged and took me to all her collegues and said ” Here’s my student who remembers this incident after all these years ). You know it is this little moments that makes the day for a teacher.

    You know each and every one can never become a teacher…it’s only who are destined to shape the lives of people .

    So you have all the reason to be proud of being one ..
    Cheers,
    wht-u-thght-eh? 🙂

    Comment by Devils Advocate | January 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yes it’s a great profession ! 🙂

    And being loved by students is the best feeling for a teacher … congrats anisha you made it 😉

    Comment by pavi | February 17, 2009 | Reply

    • thnx pavi
      never thot ill say it bt “am loving it 🙂 “

      Comment by takinlife1stepatime | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  3. That is so sweet Anisha

    Comment by Shweta | September 14, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment